Battle of the Beauty Box

Battle of the Beauty Box

It’s that time of month again! Which beauty box will reign supreme this month Ipsy or Play by Sephora? Let’s not waste any time and just dive in to what each box contains.

IPSY

IPSY June Bag

NYX – Whipped Lip & Cheek Souffle in Cocoa Bean: This pretty little 2-in-1 can be used for lips & cheeks, and is perfect for a matching monochromatic look.

Beauty For Real – I-Line Eyeliner in 24 Karat: This rich gel formula is SUPER pigmented and lasts all day long, no touch-ups required. Since it doesn’t dry immediately, you’ll have time to smudge and play with the line before it sets, but remember once it sets, it stays all day long! And this eyeliner is self-sharpening.

Balm Cosmetics – Balm Springs Blush: This is a crazy beautiful, rosy blush shade that looks amazing for all skin tones, it’s also long-wearing.

Hey Honey – Uncover Detoxifying Mud Mask: Detoxifying. Stimulating. Clarifying. Refining. Soothing. Cleansing. Clearly when it comes to multitasking, this sweet-smelling mask goes above and beyond. It’s made with an amazing cocktail of Dead Sea black mud, honeysuckle, aloe, and Propolis. You can tell that acne-causing bacteria, BYE! This mask clears away all the junk, leaving your skin clean, gorgeous, and glowy AF.

City Color Cosmetics – Shimmer Shadow in Cheers to Life: This is a beautiful bronze shade that pops on all skin tones, it’s highly pigmented and the shimmer flecked formula is super velvety and insanely blend-able.

Sephora Play

Sephora Play June Box

Tarteguard 20 – Tinted moisturizer in medium: This tinted moisturizer with broad spectrum SPF 20 delivers lightweight coverage while hydrating with antioxidants.

Murad – Invisiblur Perfecting Shield: This is a weightless primer-meets-sunscreen that evens texture, smooths fine lines and creates a perfect canvas for makeup. This incredibly silky-soft formula not only provides SPF 30 coverage but also primes your face for perfect makeup application.

Bumble and Bumble – Don’t Blow It: This is an innovative hair styling cream that enhances natural texture and conditions strands for a polished look without a blow dryer.

Kat Von D – Everlasting Liquid Lipstick in K-Dub: This is a highly pigmented, long lasting, smudge proof liquid lipstick with a creamy formula that glides on smoothly like a gloss but leaves a matte finish.

Briogeo – Curl Charisma Rice Amino + Avocado leave-in defining creme: Moisturizing and frizz-fighting styling cream packed with amino acids enhances, shapes, and defines curls.

Mugler – Alien fragrance: A dark, daring, and romantic scent that combines notes of spicy chai tea with sweet floral. It blends Jasmine Sambac, Cashmeran Wood, and Ambergris.

Now let’s get to the opinions & impressions of these boxes.

IPSY – I really enjoy NYX products and wished I would have loved this whipped lip and cheek souffle more, but it just didn’t cut it for me. I liked the color but the application wand is awkwardly shaped, it makes a better contour than lipstick. The Hey Honey brand has been a hit and miss for me but I’m glad to say that the Uncover detoxifying mud mask is fantastic and works wonderfully. I hadn’t tried the Balm Springs blush until I received this sample and I’m loving it! This blush is a nice color and build-able so I can make it fit many looks. The City Color Cosmetics Shimmer Shadow is STUNNING! It’s so highly pigmented and the formula is so velvety soft that it’s hard not to love it. The Beauty For Real I-Line is also beautiful, the piercing gold color makes my eyes pop no matter what; and the smooth gel formula glides on perfectly.

Sephora Play – I am a big fan of Tarte and normally I love their products but the Tarteguard 20 wasn’t for me! First it doesn’t meet my “ideal” requirements for an SPF; I think anything less than SPF 30 isn’t worth the money. It does moisturize but it also left my skin feeling oily and gave my face a shiny appearance. The Murad Invisiblur Perfecting Shield SPF 30; I love that it contains SPF 30 and is a decent primer, but at the end of the day I can’t love it, the active ingredients in the product are sunscreen and I can’t justify spending an outrageous amount of money on sunscreen. The Bumble and Bumble styling cream; I’ve got so many of these that I could easily use them as stocking stuffer’s for all the girls in my family this Christmas and still have leftovers. I don’t use this styling product as much as other’s so I wasn’t excited to get it. The Kat Von D liquid lipstick is amazing! K-Dub is a beautiful, highly pigmented bright fuschia color and all around fun to wear. The Briogeo Curl Charisma, has a pleasant scent and doesn’t leave a sticky residue behind, it defines my curls nicely and its ingredients are plant based. Lastly is the Mugler Alien fragrance, it’s a very nice floral scent that isn’t overwhelming.

There you have it, all the ins-and-outs of each bag with my thoughts and opinions, so who do you think won this beauty battle…? Hands down IPSY, they swept the floor with Sephora’s Play bag. Ipsy’s theme card this month was volume up and they definitely stepped up their game this month!!

What did you think of this beauty battle? Which box would you choose to win? Which products do you look forward to using? Let me know in the comments, and be sure to follow my blog to stay up-to-date with even more amazing product reviews.

XO Jessie

Leave a Reply

