Beauty Box Battle – IPSY VS Sephora PLAY

Beauty Box Battle – IPSY VS Sephora PLAY

This month the battle of the beauty boxes are planning to leave us spellbound, who will reign supreme and who is full of Hocus Pocus; let’s not waste any more time and find out now!!

 Sephora Play

The Bag – This month Sephora Play theme is “Public Display of Complexion”, aside from the cute graphic the bag itself is just like the previous Sephora play bags.

Urban Decay Quick Fix Hydracharged Prep Priming Spray – A pore-minimizing priming spray infused with coconut water for mega hydration and skin-soothing benefits. This ultra-light spray, inspired by the Korean water trend, soothes and smooths skin with a quick spritz for a hydrated, poreless appearance. Plus, the coconut water gives it a refreshing, tropical scent you’ll want to reapply. Throw it in your bag for whenever your complexion needs a pick-me up – it won’t smudge your makeup!

Make Up For Ever Ultra HD Invisible Cover Foundation Y335 – A fan-favorite foundation known for its long wearing coverage and flawless finish that looks natural in every light. This formula’s lightweight texture is ideal for every skin type and with 40 shades, you’re pretty much guaranteed to find a fit. It includes the latest in foundation innovation to create a satiny, seamless finish.

IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Undereye Illumination – A full-coverage, waterproof under-eye concealer that provides anti-aging benefits while dramatically reducing the appearance of dark circles. Missed a few hours of sleep last night? Add this extra step after priming skin and before applying foundation to instantly cover and gradually improve the look of dark circles.

Sunday Riley C.E.O. Rapid Flash Brightening Serum – A vitamin C concentrated serum that brightens, smooths, and hydrates skin while visibly reducing signs of aging. This highly effective formula contains 15% vitamin C to brighten dark spots while delivering protective antioxidants and visible anti-aging benefits with a refreshing citrus scent.

Sephora Collection Triple Action Cleansing Water – A refreshing no-rinse micellar water cleanser that removes makeup from your face and eyes in one swipe. This cleansing formula removes impurities with micellar water, soothing and moisturizing your skin for a super clean feeling sans water. This is the perfect skin-prepping step – your primer will go on smoothly and your pores won’t get clogged.

GUCCI Bloom – This blend embodies a diverse garden growing wild with rich jasmine bud, tuberose, and Rangoon creeper. Alessandro Michele designed a unique, evocative scent inspired by the authenticity and diversity of the people he designs for, choosing Rangoon Creeper for its unique tendency to change from white to red as it blooms.

IPSY

IPSY Bag – This month IPSY chose the “Spellbound” theme; this theme must be popular because BoxyCharm also chose to use it this month for their box…the bag is crimson and lace with an adorable bat zipper.

Urban Decay 24/7 Glide-on Eye Pencil in Perversion – This is a beautiful, creamy black eyeliner. It glides on smooth, giving you crisp lines that last all day without budging.

First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream – You can use it head to toe. It absorbs quickly and doesn’t feel greasy when you touch your phone, or your keyboard. It’s made with soothing ingredients like shea butter, licorice root and white tea that are gentle on sensitive skin. The gentle formula is even safe enough to use on your children.

MDMFlow Liquid Matte Lipstick in Retro – This is a nice liquid lipstick that is creamy, and comfortable on the lips with a hydrating formula. (It contains Vitamin E) This liquid lipstick stays in place for 8 hours with no touch ups, a vintage pink that lives up to its name Retro.

Dermelect Cosmeceuticals Dermelect “Me” in What-A-Gem – This is a long-wear polish made with peptides that strengthen your nails and help them grow. It’s buildable and has a shimmery quartz that looks fabulous alone or as a top coat.

IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Pores Pressed Powder – It’s so light and airy, you can’t feel it on and it gives you a soft, airbrushed look in seconds. It’s made with silk collagen, and antioxidant-rich ingredients, which means it’ll make your skin super happy too.

 

MY THOUGHTS

When I first opened my Sephora Play box this month I was less than thrilled especially seeing the cleansing water, (I have so much of it) but I tried to have an open mind. The Gucci Bloom perfume is a nice floral scent, it’s definitely unique and unlike other floral scents that I’ve tried and if you are sensitive to fragrances be careful because I would say that this specific one is pretty strong.  The Sephora Triple action cleansing water has a nice gentle fresh scent, it hasn’t irritated my skin or made me breakout which is a plus and it’s good at removing makeup. The Sunday Riley C.E.O. Rapid Flash has a fairly strong citrus scent and it felt a bit tacky after applying it; I didn’t notice any brightening effects from using it, so I think it’s a dud sadly. The IT cosmetics, Bye Bye under-eye illumination I received it in shade medium, I’m not going to lie, it’s not my favorite, and it’s not even my second favorite. It’s a bit too pink for my skin tone and doesn’t blend well. The Urban Decay Quick Fix Spray is my favorite product from this box, it smells wonderful and is so hydrating without giving me a greasy, heavy feeling. Lastly, the Make Up For Ever foundation in Y335, I really wanted to love this foundation, I’ve heard so many good things about it and I tried hard to love it for what it was but I just couldn’t. It doesn’t match my skin tone, it has a yellow undertone to it that makes me appear Jaundice, it’s also more watery than I like my foundations to be; I may try another shade but if it has the same consistency then I won’t be a  fan of it. Now for the IPSY Bag…I have a lot of liquid lipsticks that are really similar in color and consistency to the MDM flow so I wasn’t really ecstatic by it, but I must say that the stay power it has is insanely long and impressive, so I might try a different shade in the future from MDM flow. I’ve used a few different First Aid Beauty products, I think they work great for hydrating my skin, especially when it’s dry and flaky without causing irritations. If you have damaged skin then I recommend picking up some of this repair cream it works wonderfully. I’m not a huge nail polish person but I really like the Dermelect nail polish, it’s a beautiful color that looks great alone or as a top coat, and it doesn’t feel heavy when it’s applied. IT Cosmetics must have a deal going on because IPSY included it their bag as well, with the IT Cosmetics Bye Bye Pores Pressed finishing powder. This is a nice translucent powder, it reminds me a lot of the brand “Airspun”. The powder is light and seemed to give me a nice airbrushed look. Lastly, the Urban Decay 24/7 eye liner pencil in Perversion, this is a nice black eyeliner that has a smooth creamy glide, it has long stay power but does give you a couple of minutes before drying completely so that you can smudge if you want to.

 

The Winner of the Beauty Box Battle

This month seemed to be more difficult to determine a winner since both boxes had things that I didn’t love. I’m glad that Sephora Play attempted to step-up their game by including nicer products than in previous boxes. I wish IPSY would have stepped up their game as well, and left their comfort zone a bit, since it is Halloween people tend to be more daring and creative, it seemed like a great opportunity for both brands to branch out but it is what it is I suppose. The best benefit I’ve realized from each of these boxes this month is that the contents actually seem to play off of each other; I was able to eliminate most of the pink tones from the It Cosmetics bye bye under eye by powdering on some of the It Cosmetics bye bye pores powder and the Sephora cleansing water was able to remove the MDM flow liquid lipstick with ease. So together these bags are great but apart they fall short. With all that being said the winner of this month’s beauty box battle is…all or nothing so they both win together or both lose together.

 

If you received these beauty boxes this month, what did you think of them? What was your favorite product(s) and which products do you wish to see next month? If you had to pick a winner in this beauty box battle who would you choose to reign champion? Let me know in the comments below and as always thanks for stopping by, be sure to follow me so you can stay up-to-date with even more wonderful products and reviews.

XO Jessie

Leave a Reply

